Fresh Cut banner
NZ Musician Logo
December 2016
December 2016
In this issue:
Ekko Park, Ill Semantics, The Broken Heartbreakers, Lisa Crawley, Valere, Fragile Colours, No Broadcast, Hikurangi Schavarien-Kaa, Skinny Hobos, Heroes For Sale, The Lucid Effect, Chris Priestley, Delaney Davidson in Europe
Join our email list and receive the latest music news, NZ Musician updates, and access to members-only competitions.
Complete the form below to contact NZ Musician magazine.

APRA Awards full of surprises

19th September 2007
It’s been bugging him since 1991, but last night at the 42nd APRA Silver Scrolls Award celebration Jordan Luck got the answer to his famous singalong question – APRA management (past and present) love him the most. So too do the 500+ crowd of songwriters and industry players who gave Jordan a standing ovation on becoming the very first inductee into the all new New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.

It was a stand out moment in the slickly run night that was challenged by having its other principal awardee absent, an awol presenter and some of its key re-interpretation performances lacking lustre.
Brooke Fraser was announced as the winner of the APRA Silver Scroll 2007 for her song Albertine. For the first time the winning song was voted for by the songwriter members of APRA rather than an anonymous judging panel. A top 20 were listed online and more than 3000 site visits led to the winner and four other ‘finalist songs’ being selected.

In a pre-filmed video Brooke explained how Albertine was penned in response to a request from one of the people she had met while in Rwanda as a World Vision spokesperson.

The SOUNZ Contemporary Award was won once again by the prolific Eve De Castro Robinson for her work These Arms to Hold You which she told the audience was commissioned by Plunket NZ and incorporated the poetry of Bill Manhire. (She also won in 1998, and was a finalist in 2006). The APRA Maioha Award went to Andrea Tunks and Pierre Tohe for Aio which Nat Rose later performed.

APRA head Ant Healey called Jordan Luck the perfect person to be the first inductee and Chong Nee got to interpret the Exponents’ classic Victoria.

“I can’t believe this, “ Jordan started in responding to his Hall of Fame induction. “I thought I might get there in 2030 or so,” he said, name checking some of those who he had been thinking would get in ahead of him, before becoming delightfully overcome with emotion and urging someone in the audience to throw him a dolphin. “I’m a stunned mullet.”

Brooke Fraser also received some wall furniture for another of her songs, Deciphering Me, being the most performed song in NZ while an also absent Neil Finn got his annual Most Played Work Overseas trophy. Prime Minister Helen Clark looks to have taken Mr Finn’s comments on board, giving her most meaningful music community speech in years.

It fell to that other statesman Don McGlashan and his fellow Blam Blam Blammers to bring the night to a thrashing climax with There is No Depression in New Zealand. Certainly not at the 42nd APRA Silver Scroll Awards anyway.

Related Information

October/November 2005
December/January 2003
December/January 2002
APRA Awards full of surprises
29 July 2010
21 September 2006
31' August '2007
16' August '2007
20' July '2007
19' June '2007
20' March '2007
31' August '2006
14' July '2006
19' August '2005
28' October '2004
7' October '2004
30' September '2004