Fresh Cut banner
NZ Musician Logo
December 2016
December 2016
In this issue:
Ekko Park, Ill Semantics, The Broken Heartbreakers, Lisa Crawley, Valere, Fragile Colours, No Broadcast, Hikurangi Schavarien-Kaa, Skinny Hobos, Heroes For Sale, The Lucid Effect, Chris Priestley, Delaney Davidson in Europe
Join our email list and receive the latest music news, NZ Musician updates, and access to members-only competitions.
Complete the form below to contact NZ Musician magazine.

Hip Hop Book Wins Montana Award

26th July 2005
We're thrilled to let you know that NZ Musician contributor Gareth Shute has taken away the Lifestyle & Contemporary Culture category at the 2005 New Zealand Montana Book awards held in Wellington last night.

Gareth's book 'Hip Hop Music in Aotearoa' was up against 'Celebrating New Zealand Wine' by JoĆ«lle Thomson (with photos by Andrew Coffey) and 'Made in Morocco: A Journey of Exotic Tastes' and Places by Julie Le Clerc & John Bougen, so well done! Hopefully that will help to put a lid on all those who delight in whinging about "hip hop tours" and hip hop culture in New Zealand in general - but we won't hold our breaths.

The overall objective of the Montana New Zealand Book Awards is to recognise excellence in books published annually in New Zealand and to stimulate the reading of quality New Zealand books. The convenor of the judging panel, former publisher Graham Beattie was joined on the panel by Wellington writers and critics John McCrystal and Laura Kroetsch. Eight specialist category advisors also assisted in the judging process. The awards were presented by the Prime Minister Helen Clark at a gala dinner and awards ceremony at the Town Hall in Wellington.

The full list of winners is as follows:
Deutz Medal for Fiction or Poetry and Fiction category winner: 'Tu' by Patricia Grace (Penguin Books)
Fiction Runners Up: 'Mansfield' by C K Stead (Vintage)
'Tarzan Presley' by Nigel Cox (Victoria University Press)

Poetry category winner: 'Nice morning for it, Adam' by Vincent O'Sullivan (Victoria University Press)

Montana Medal for Non Fiction and History category winner: 'At Home: A Century of New Zealand Design' by Douglas Lloyd Jenkins (Godwit)

Biography category winner: 'Chronicle of the Unsung' by Martin Edmond (Auckland University Press)

Reference & Anthology category winner: 'The New Zealand Oxford Dictionary' edited by Tony Deverson & Graeme Kennedy (Oxford University Press)

Lifestyle & Contemporary Culture category winner: 'Hip Hop Music in Aotearoa' by Gareth Shute (Reed Publishing)

Environment category winner: 'Tiritiri Matangi: A Model of Conservation' by Anne Rimmer (Tandem Press)

Illustrative category winner: 'Handboek: Ans Westra Photographs' by Luit Bieringa and Lawrence McDonald (BWX (Blair Wakefield Exhibitions))

Readers' Choice Award: 'Made in Morocco: A Journey of Exotic Tastes and Places' by Julie Le Clerc and John Bougen (Penguin Books)

All category winners are presented with a prize of $5,000. The winners of the Deutz Medal for Fiction or Poetry and the Montana Medal for Non Fiction were each presented with an additional prize of $10,000. The Readers' Choice Award carried a monetary prize worth $1,000.

Best First Book Awards:

The winner of the New Zealand Society of Authors Hubert Church Best First Book Award for Fiction went to Julian Novitz for his collection of short stories, 'My Real Life and Other Stories' (Vintage).

The New Zealand Society of Authors Jessie Mackay Best First Book Award for Poetry was won by Sonja Yelich for her collection, 'Clung' (Auckland University Press).

The New Zealand Society of Authors E H McCormick Best First Book Award for Non Fiction was presented to Douglas Wright for his memoir, 'Ghost Dance' (Penguin Books). Each of these first-time authors was presented with $1,000.

Reviewer And Review Page Or Programme Awards:

The winner of the Best Review Page or Programme Award was North & South magazine.

Wellington writer Tony Simpson was named Reviewer of the Year.

The principal sponsors of the Montana New Zealand Book Awards are Montana wines and Creative New Zealand. The awards are managed by Booksellers New Zealand and supported by Book Publishers Association of New Zealand, the New Zealand Society of Authors and Book Tokens (NZ) Ltd.


Related Information

June/July 2004