Fresh Cut banner
NZ Musician Logo
December 2016
December 2016
In this issue:
Ekko Park, Ill Semantics, The Broken Heartbreakers, Lisa Crawley, Valere, Fragile Colours, No Broadcast, Hikurangi Schavarien-Kaa, Skinny Hobos, Heroes For Sale, The Lucid Effect, Chris Priestley, Delaney Davidson in Europe
Join our email list and receive the latest music news, NZ Musician updates, and access to members-only competitions.
Complete the form below to contact NZ Musician magazine.

Feature: The Mint Chicks - 2007 New Zealand Music Awards CRAZY-NESS!

Crazy they may be, but dumb their music most certainly is not - and now they've got the Tuis to prove it. Auckland foursome The Mint Chicks stole the show and a Tui trophy for each on the strength of their stunning 46-minute spaztastic pop album 'Crazy? Yes! Dumb? No!', at the 2007 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards.

Having already won guitarist Ruban Nielson a trophy for designing the Best Cover artwork, the album collected a further four Tuis at the Music Awards main event. They included the premier Best Group award, Album of the Year, Rock Album of the Year and Best Music Video (for the album's title track) awarded to director Sam Peacocke.

Although it hadn't yet sold enough to go gold prior to the awards, Flying Nun will doubtless be looking forward to a 'Crazy? Yes! Dumb? No!' sales boom in the next few weeks. Who knows, maybe mainstream radio will even play some Mint Chicks' tracks? The album was clearly a favourite among the extended voting academy which RIANZ has adopted to find the winners in 15 of the two dozen categories now recognised throughout the year.

Hollie Smith's 'Long Player' album earned her three fresh Tuis for being the Best Female Solo Artist, Breakthrough Artist of the Year and, somewhat less obviously, Best Aotearoa Roots Album. These on top of the Tui which Hollie and studio pal Jeremy Toy earlier picked up for Best Producer. Evermore's fabulous Hume brothers picked up the Single of the Year award and a matching trophy for their 2005 one recognising International Achievements.

Shapeshifter were judged to have produced the Best Dance/Electronica Album with 'Soulstice', while the Best Urban/Hip Hop Album award went to PNC for his 'Rookie Card' and Tim Finn's return breakthrough album 'Imaginary Kingdom' won him a Tui as our Best Male Solo Artist.

This year's Silver Scroll awardee Brooke Fraser was in danger of grabbing only the Most Overlooked award (alongside Opshop), but claimed some reward with 'Albertine' being the Highest Selling Album (60,000 and counting) and Deciphering Me the NZ On Air Airplay Record of the Year. Although Crawl was the year's Highest Selling Single it apparently wasn't enough to qualify Atlas for breakthrough act status in the ears of judging academy.

At the opposite end of the career trail, Johnny Devlin became the first recipient of the New Zealand Herald Legacy Award and the second artist (following closely behind APRA's chosen star Jordan Luck) to be inducted into the newly created NZ Music Hall of Fame.

Staged once again at Auckland's Aotea Centre the winners and finalists announced at the Vodafone NZ Music Awards held mid October were as follows:

Album of the Year
Winner: The Mint Chicks - 'Crazy? Yes! Dumb? No!'
Finalists: Brooke Fraser - 'Albertine'
Evermore - 'Real Life'
Hollie Smith - 'Long Player'
Opshop - 'Second Hand Planet'
Single of the Year
Winner: Evermore - Light Surrounding You
Finalists: Brooke Fraser - Deciphering Me
Liam Finn - Second Chance
Opshop - Maybe
The Tutts - K
Best Group
Winner: The Mint Chicks
Finalists: Evermore
Best Male Solo Artist
Winner: Tim Finn - 'Imaginary Kingdom'
Finalists: Greg Johnson - 'Anyone Can Say Goodbye'
Paul McLaney - 'Edin'
Best Female Solo Artist
Winner: Hollie Smith - 'Long Player'
Finalists: Brooke Fraser - 'Albertine'
Hayley Westenra - 'Treasure'
Breakthrough Artist of the Year
Winner: Hollie Smith
Finalists: Atlas
Liam Finn
Best Rock Album
Winner: The Mint Chicks - 'Crazy? Yes! Dumb? No!'
Finalists: Evermore - 'Real Life'
Opshop - 'Second Hand Planet'
Best Urban/Hip Hop Album
Winner: PNC - 'Rookie Card'
Finalists: 4 Corners - 'The Foundations'
Deceptikonz - 'Heavy Rotation'
Best Aotearoa Roots Album
Winner: Hollie Smith - 'Long Player'
Finalists: Age Pryor - 'Shanks' Pony'
The Black Seeds - 'Into the Dojo'
Best Music Video
Winner: Sam Peacocke - Crazy?Yes!Dumb?No!(The Mint Chicks)
Finalists: Angus Sutherland and Liam Finn - Second Chance (Liam Finn)
Stephen Tolfrey - Maybe (Opshop)
Best Dance/Electronica Album
Winner: Shapeshifter - 'Soulstice'
Finalists: Bulletproof - 'Shake The Foundations'
State Of Mind - 'Take Control'
Best Maori Album
Winner: Richard Nunns & Hirini Melbourne
 - 'Te Whaiao: Te Ku Te Whe Remixed'
Finalists: Adam Whauwhau - 'Tukuna Mai'
Toi Hautu - 'Na Te Atua'
Best Gospel/Christian Album
Winner: Rapture Ruckus - 'I Believe'
Finalists: Hannah Donald - 'Unfinished Journey'
Magnify - 'Alive Within'
Best Classical Album
Winner: John Psathas - 'View From Olympus'
Finalists: NZSO and James Judd
- 'Lilburn - Orchestral Works'
Dame Kiri Te Kanawa - 'Kiri Sings Karl'

International Achievement

Highest Selling Album
Brooke Fraser - 'Albertine'

Highest Selling Single
Atlas - Crawl

NZ On Air Airplay Record of the Year
Brooke Fraser - Deciphering Me

The New Zealand Herald Legacy Award
Johnny Devlin